This unique coastal national nature reserve features a long sandy spit stretching three and a half miles into the Humber Estuary from the Holderness Coast. Habitats found here include chalk grassland, mature sand dunes, sandy beaches on the seaward side and mud flats on the estuary side. A Mecca for birdwatchers, many rarities can be spotted here, along with thousands of migrants and winter visitors. Spurn National Nature Reserve forms part of the Humber Estuary Special Area of Conservation. This unique coastal reserve is also part of the Spurn Heritage Coast. It is possible to wander freely over much of the reserve. Several interpretation boards are located around the reserve, with more detailed information displays at the Blue Bell cafe and at the Warren. There are toilets in the public car park at the Blue Bell. A seasonal cafe operates at the point near to the RNLI houses. Parking is available in the public car park at the Blue Bell or by travelling down the peninsula to the Point for which there is a charge of £3 per car.
The lighthouse trail begins at Spurn where there are two lighthouses situated close to each other at the Southern end of the Point. There have been lighthouses on Spurn since 1427 because of the dangerous currents and sandbanks that lie beneath the Humber's surface. There is little record of what Spurn's earlier lighthouses looked like, but we do know they have been built in pairs since 1674 and at least eight have been swept away in storms. They were built in twos (called high and low lights) to help sailors navigate in the Humber estuary. In 1852 the last, and still standing, low light was built. However when the present lighthouse was built the low light was no longer needed as three additional lamps were placed in the body of the lighthouse instead. It has since been used as an explosive store and a water tower. Now it stands deserted.
Thomas Matthews designed the present lighthouse in 1895 when the previous one was discovered to be cracking. It stands on an artificial rock foundation that goes down 22 feet (7m) and took nearly two years to build. Later the oil lam was converted to electricity (1941) and gas (1957) on which it ran until 1985 when it was last used.
First lighthouse built: 1427
Current lighthouse built: 1893-95
Height: 128ft (39m)
Made of: 300, 000 Staffordshire bricks
Designed by: Thomas Matthews
Built by: Strattens of Edinburgh
Last day of use: 31st October 1985
Location: End of Spurn Point
Access: No public access inside. Sited on National Nature Reserve. Charge for vehicle entry to reserve. No dogs permitted on reserve.
ContactSpurn Point Reserve Manager
email a friend
Spurn National Nature Reserve, Spurn Head, HU12 0UG
Map reference: TA 416158 Lat: 53.62013 Long: 0.14014
The bus service, Spurn Ranger is now operating until 25th October 2009, a service provided by EYMS. It is service number 73 and will be operating between Withernsea and Spurn Point and connects at Patrington to provide a direct connection from Hull. Through fares are available. As well as for visitors, the bus provides a Sunday service for residents in the area. Holders of Local Authority Elderly/Disabled bus passes can use the service for free.
Accessible by Public Transport :